Kawartha Lakes Community
Fenelon Falls

Fenelon Falls was founded in 1834 by Irish immigrants James Wallis and Roberts Jameson, who built a sawmill at the village's 23-foot waterfall. To this day, the falls remain a popular attraction for visitors and cottagers.

Wallis' former residence Maryboro Lodge, is now home to the Fenelon Falls Museum and is a beehive of activity during the summer months. For the last few years, museum curator Alison Scott has coordinated Victorian teas on the veranda complete with music played on the museum's 19th century antique piano.

Fenelon Falls offers a number of great shopping experiences in its charming and historic downtown. From clothes to knick-knacks, you're certain to find something wonderful there to take home. There is also no shortage of great places to eat there, from curry to fish and chips, and fiery hot wings. Annual events such as the Stream Show, the Car and Truck Show, Canada Day celebrations, the Fenelon Fair and Kawartha Arts Festival draw visitors from throughout the province and even overseas.

The arts festival has more than 100 exhibitors featuring sculptures, pottery, glass, photography, jewelry, paintings and more.

The area also boasts some of the best golfing opportunities, including the Sturgeon Point Golf Club, located in the hamlet of the same name, just minutes south of Fenelon Falls.

This quiet community, nestled in the V shape of Sturgeon Lake is always a flurry of activity in the summertime courtesy of its connection to the Trent-Severn Waterway. Each year, anglers, boaters, swimmers, water skiers and wakeboarders ply its waters. Byrnell Golf Club offers nine excellent holes right in Fenelon Falls, with a pro calibre driving range just minutes north.

Another major feature of the Fenelon Falls area is linked to the waterways. The Kawartha Spirit is the largest Canadian Coast Guard approved vessel serving the Kawarthas with a passenger capacity of 200. The boat cruises the picturesque Sturgeon and Cameron Lakes, providing passengers with a chance glimpse of a Great Blue Heron, Osprey or even a celebrity's cottage.

Lock 34 is also one of the hottest tourist locks on the Trent-Severn Waterway and the nearby lakes are home to a variety of resorts and cottages.

Originally called Cameron's Falls, when the post office opened in 1838, it was decided to change the name to Fenelon Falls in honour of Father Fenelon, Abbe Fancoise de Salignac, a Sulpician missionary who came to Canada in 1667 and founded a mission on the Bay of Quinte the following year.

A number of great projects are in the works for Fenelon Falls thanks to the Powerlinks Fund. The area should see wonderful restoration work to its local parks and more.

Don't forget to visit the flowing falls, where visitors can learn how the falls' hydro system works thanks to a number of instructional signs.

A nearby restaurant also provides a lookout over the scenic falls and its rocky cliffs.


Courtesy of the Lindsay Post
www.thepost.ca